Mezcal Unión

Mezcal Unión

Mezcal Unión is produced and distilled in San Baltazar, in the state of Oaxaca. It is a blend of two different types of agave and is produced by a group of families. The families that form part of the Union of mezcal have more than three generations producing mezcal as their main craft in their tiny artisanal palenques. Their Espadin Agave grows for 6-8 years before harvesting, their Cirial for 20 years. Once the Agave is harvested, and the piñas are ready to be roasted, a fire is started in the base of a earthen pit, with river stones placed on top. Once the rocks are red-hot, the piñas, which have been cut in half or in quarters, are placed in the pit. The entire pit is then covered with agave leaves and fiber and straw mats, piled up with earth and left to roast for four days. The roasted agave is crushed by a Tahona, pulled via horse or mule. Once extracted, the mash is placed in wooden barrels with water and left to ferment for several days. After the fermentation, the mash is double-distilled in copper pot stills, then bottled at 40% ABV.

Mezcal Unión Uno

SKU: 047563

Case configuration: 6x750mL

100% Agave, comprised of ~80% Espadín (Agave angustifolia), and ~20% Cirial & Barril (Agave karwinskii vars.), produced in San Baltazar Guelavila, Oaxaca and bottled at 40% ABV.

Serious Eats 2013: “This mezcal has a sharp and grassy scent, with a nice cactusy kick. On tasting, fruit and floral flavors begin to surface, transporting you to a field of wildflowers. This was the most integrated and balanced mezcal of the group.”


Wine Enthusiast 2013: 92 points – “The ripe, fruity style of this mezcal lends itself to making margarita variations and other cocktails. Look for tropical fruit flavors like lychee and banana, and a mild note of jalapeño on the finish.”

2012 Awards – "Best of the Best" Best Joven Mezcal

Available at these British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, & Ontario locations in Canada

Alberta Product Availability at Liquor Connect

View Mezcal Union in Canada: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, & Ontario in a larger map